Home | hours | directions | suggestions | FAQs

Booksmith

Support the Wellesley Free Library when you buy books and gifts at Wellesley Books online through our website. A percentage of every sale benefits the WFL.

When you shop here:

You support the Wellesley Free Library! Amazon.com donates a percentage of Every sale originating from this site to the Library.

Job Searching

 

The Wellesley Free Library Reference collection includes business and industry directories that are useful for researching a prospective employer.  The Career Center contains many books that describe specific careers as well as information about searching for and finding a job.  The following are only a sample of our holdings:

 

Companies & Industries

Almanac of American Employers
(Business Reference 331.2 Almanac)
500 industry profiles focusing on industry outlooks and trends.  The book is indexed by career type, locations, and industry.

Boston Business Journal of Lists
(Business Reference 338.7 Book)
This book lists detailed financial information on the largest companies and important industries in the Greater Boston area.

Hoover’s
(Business Reference 338.74 Hoover’s)
In-depth information on 2,550 of the world’s largest, fastest growing, and most influential public and private companies.

Job Hunter’s Sourcebook
(Reference 331.128 Job)
This reference lists, for specific careers, employer directories, employment agencies, placement services, sources of help wanted ads, and Internet resources.

Directory of Executive Recruiters
(Ready Reference 658.31 Directory)
Indexed by job function, industry, location, and recruiter specialties.  Included is a general description of the recruiter along with industry areas covered and minimum salary.

Encyclopedia of Careers & Vocational Guidance
(Reference 371.42 Encyclopedia)
A multivolume set that describes occupations. Volume One includes guidance related to preparing for a career, finding a job, applying, and being hired.

Occupational Outlook Handbook
(Reference 371.42 Occupational)
The U.S. Government’s publication on career information provides descriptions for various occupations and careers.  It contains information on career preparation, salary expectation and prospective changes in the workplace. 

Career Center
The career center includes many resources that provide information on finding the right career path.  Unlike reference books, these books may be borrowed.  One example:

Careers In Focus (Careers Shelf)
Each volume in this series focuses on a specific career path, such as Technicians.  It contains an overview of the job as well as information on earnings, the work environment and growth outlook.

 

Online Resources

General BusinessFile ASAP and Company ProFiles
General BusinessFile ASAP has over 45 million journal articles and newswire releases.  Selecting "Advance Search" lets you search Company ProFiles with information from Ward's Business Directory and Graham & Whiteside's World's Major Company series.  Investext contains full text investment reports on public companies.

Hoover's Online
Searchable index of profiles and financials for a host of U.S. and international private and public companies.

Learning Express Library
Educational and career test materials, including tutorials for using Microsoft Office products.

ReferenceUSA
Compiled from publicly available sources, this resource includes addresses, phone numbers, website addresses, sales reports, employees, subsidiary information, and SEC filings.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
In addition to a wealth of company profiles, NetAdvantage includes the S&P Industry Surveys, a source for statistical summaries and comparative information by industry sector about the U.S. economy and markets.  The surveys include trends, projections, market analyses and performance comparisons of firms in each sector.

 

Helpful Web Sites 

U. S. Department of Labor Occupational Outlook Online
http://www.bls.gov/OCOThe U.S. Government site for career information provides descriptions of various occupations and careers.

U.S. Department of Labor Career Guide to Industries
http://www.bls.gov/oco/cg/home.htm 
A companion to Occupational Outlook, this site provides information on occupations from an industry perspective;  reporting number of jobs within geographic areas concentrations of jobs.

Kirstein Business Branch
http://www.bpl.org/research/kbb/kbbhome.htm 
A specialized business reference and research service of the Boston Public Library.

Job Hunters Bible
http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/This site supplements the book: What Color is Your Parachute:  A Practical Manual for Job Hunters and Career Changers.


Job Sites 


Boston Globe's Career Path    
www.boston.com/jobs 

Boston Job Source                      
bostonjobsource.com     

Boston Jobs                                
www.bostonjobs.com

Craigslist for the Boston Area

boston.craigslist.org

Flipdog 
www.flipdog.com

Idealist
www.idealist.org

Job Central
www.jobcentral.com

JobFind from the Boston Herald
www.bostonherald.com/jobfind

Job-Hunt
www.job-hunt.org

MA State Job Search
web.detma.org/JobQuest

Medzilla Medical Jobs
medzilla.com

TV Jobs

tvjobs.com

Wall St. Journal’s Careers

online.wsj.com/public/page/news-career-jobs.html

Wind Networking Site
http://windnetworking.net/index.html

 

 

 

 

MW 11/11

Wellesley Free Library | 530 Washington Street | Wellesley, Massachusetts 02482 | phone 781-235-1610 | search | site map | hours | directions | contact

Powered by
Blue Robin