|
|

Support the Wellesley Free Library when you buy books and gifts at Wellesley Books online through our website. A percentage of every sale benefits the WFL.
When you shop here:
You support the Wellesley Free Library! Amazon.com donates a percentage of Every
sale originating from this site to the Library.
|
|
Using Health Reference Center
|
|
to find health-related articles in magazines and journals
|
|
Use this database to:
- Locate articles in periodicals 1980-present
- Find articles by subject or by specific words
- View the entire text of many of the articles
- Access information from pamphlets and reference books
- Listen to health-related radio broadcasts
|
|
About this database:
Health Reference Center—Academic provides access to over 2.7 million articles from over 7700 publications. These sources include medical journals, articles from general interest publications, patient education materials, and reference books. Most of the articles are full-text and some are abstracts and citations only. The periodicals included cover a broad range of health-related subjects for consumers, physicians, nurses and other professionals. Since 2007, multimedia sources such as podcasts and radio broadcasts have been included.
|
|
Searching the Database
Go to the Health Reference Center home page. You will be prompted to enter your library card number. Type in the key words of your search. This keyword search examines titles, authors, subjects and introductory text of the articles. Sometimes this broad search will produce enough relevant results and sometimes the subject terms appearing on the left of the screen will work better. The results of any search will be divided among the five types of publications: academic journals, magazines, books, news and multimedia. Use the tabs at the top of the results to choose. Results for each of these tabs are arranged in reverse chronological order—the most recent appearing first. The articles for which the entire content is available will display the words “full-text” under the article headline. Click on the headline or “full-text” to see the article. The list of results can be modified by clicking on Expand/Limit, appearing just above the results. The Basic Search allows you to look for words as a subject, as keywords or words in the text of the article.The Advanced Search provides the ability to combine search terms. Subject Guide Search sorts the articles into various subdivisions.
|
|
Searching Tips
- If you only want to see articles that you can read right away, remember to click in the box next to
- Limit the results to documents with full text. This option is available in Advanced Search, Subject Search and Basic Search (first click on More Search Options).
- Articles or citations may be emailed as well as printed.
- Use the Mark box (at the left of each headline) to create a cumulative list of articles which you may want to return to.
- When you find an article that’s appropriate to your search, check at the left of the article for the subjects linked to it; using these subjects may help you locate additional articles.
- Taking full advantage of the Advanced Search may require some help from a Reference Librarian—ask us!
- Click on the Multimedia tab to hear broadcasts from such National Public Radio shows as All Things Considered, Morning Edition and Talk of the Nation.
- Use Expand/Limit to find spcific types of articles (e.g. book review, case study, editorial, bibliography).
- Use Expand/Limit to find articles in a particular publication or type of publication.
|
|
Similar Databases
Medline Plus brought to us by the National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health, offers a huge array of health resources: news, disease overviews, drug information, directories, dictionaries and encyclopedias, web directory and access to PubMed.
Medline/PubMed is the National Library of Medicine’s index of almost 5000 medical journals. Although only a tiny portion of Medline’s 11 million articles are provided full text, our Interlibrary Loan Department can usually obtain them for you.
|
Sample Searches (These searches were done in May 2009—results will change over time)
Question: My ankle hurts a lot—is it likely to be tendinitis?
Search procedure: For a diagnosis, you’ll have to consult a physician, but there’s a lot of information in Health Reference Center on tendonitis.. At the Basic Search type in tendinitis. Though there are over 500 journal and magazine articles, you might want to begin with one of the overviews listed under the Books tab. The CareNotes overview on Achilles Tendinitis describes the causes, symptoms, diagnosis and treatment of the condition. For technical articles click on the Academic Journals tab; for general audience.periodicals, choose the Magazines tab.
Question: My doctor prescribed protonix for me, but I don’t know what it is.
Search procedure: Type protonix in the Basic Search box. Click on the Reference tab. There are entries for PDR Family Guide to Prescription Drugs. and Detailed Drug Information for the Consumer.
Question: Help! I’m going bald. Is there anything that can make my hair grow back?
Search procedure: Click on Subject Guide search. Type in baldness. (The database will direct you to click on the medical term alopecia.) Click on Subdivisions to see a list of 55 subcategories including 533 articles on Care and Treatment and 181 on Drug Therapy.
Question: I’m doing a report on asthma and air pollution. Do you have anything?
Search procedure: Use the Basic Search and type in asthma pollution. The results list shows 23 articles (under the magazines tab) in which asthma and pollution appear within two words of each other. To expand the results, type in asthma AND pollution. This search yields 163 magazine articles in which the search words appear anywhere in the citation. There are other ways of adjusting the search. If you switch to a relevancy search, the results will appear in ranked order—those articles in which the words appear most often will be first. You could also zero in on your topic by finding a relevant article using any of the above searches, then clicking on one of the subjects (e.g. Air Pollution—Health Aspects) listed to the left of the article |
|
Please note: If your search is not successful, it’s possible that a new search
with different terms or a different database will yield better results.
Please ask a Reference Librarian for help (781-235-1610 x1117)
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Wellesley Free Library | 530 Washington Street | Wellesley, Massachusetts 02482
| phone 781-235-1610 | search
| site map |
hours | directions
| contact
|